Uncategorized

Dorothy Must Die Series

“I hate to break it to you, but just because someone has pretty hair and a good skin tone and a crown instead of a pointy hat, doesn’t mean she’s not the baddest b***h this side of the Emerald City”. 

I’d admired Dorothy Must Die for a while in Waterstones, but never quite got round to ordering it. When I finally took the plunge, I still wasn’t convinced for the first half of the book. I was only managing to read a small amount per night and couldn’t quite get myself immersed in it. When I finally did however, I was NOT disappointed. The book got better and better and the action-packed ending made me desperate to read more about Amy Gumm’s adventures.

Cue The Wicked Will Rise purchase. (I actually told my husband to order it for me for my Easter present instead of chocolate!). First of all, this book was beautifully floppy. ‘What?’ I hear you ask? I love a paperback that flops open and stays open without you finding the need to crease the spine (sacrilege!) This story jumped straight into the ending of DMD and was as action packed as I expected it to be. More and more of the backstory is discovered and you really start to generate a picture about what on Earth happened to Oz!

If you’re reading DMD and are not sure, persevere. You won’t be disappointed. This is an excellent retelling of the Wizard of Oz and I can’t wait to read The Yellow Brick War.

dorothy

Leave a Reply

